A Game of Thrones – G.R.R. Martin

Standard
A Game of Thrones – G.R.R. Martin

“In a game of thrones you win, or you die.”

When I first heard about A Game of Thrones it was when the television show was showing in the US and everyone was raving about it. When I finally got hold of the series I watched the entire first season in two days, and I was enthralled, it was epic like Lord of the Rings but with the malice of Rome. I knew this was a series of books I had to get my hands on. So off I popped to the bookshop and bought it.

It is quite the tome but unlike a couple of other fantasy books I have read it kept me glued to every single page. I knew what was going to happen yet I was still amazed at the depth of the characters. Everyone seems to have their favourite characters in the series and I can honestly say mine is John Snow. For all his faults and mopiness he is still a lovely character. Arya is also wonderful.

There are very few books that have left me so invested in its characters. Every storyline draws you in and all the characters have their flaws, they are completely well rounded.

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves high fantasy, and even if you don’t lovers of historical fiction and even sci-fi epics such as Dune will love this book. I am waiting with anticipation for the second series and to finally get round to reading A Clash of Kings. I’m just sorry it took me so long to get hold of this series.

Leave a comment